Cohort StudyClinical Guidelines & Best PracticesTreatment: Exercise & MovementComorbidities & Related ConditionsClinical RelevanceDOI
4 min read
Jump to:

Patient-friendly summary

If you read nothing else

A Danish program of osteoarthritis education plus supervised exercise helped nearly 10,000 people with knee or hip pain feel better, move better, and rely less on painkillers for up to a year.

Bottom line

Delivering guideline-based education and supervised neuromuscular exercise in routine clinical practice was associated with reduced pain, better quality of life, and less painkiller use and sick leave in knee and hip OA, but the absence of a control group means the benefits are likely overestimated.

Moderate evidence

Published

2017
9 years ago
Older study

Evidence hierarchy

Meta-analysis
Systematic Review
RCT
Cohort ◀ this study
Case-Control
Case Report
Expert Opinion

Study participants

9,825 registered (8,894 eligible for follow-up)Not reported (mean age 64.9 years among the subgroup that discontinued)Not reported overall (73% women among those who discontinued)

Danish adults with knee and/or hip osteoarthritis symptoms enrolled in the national GLA:D registry, 2013-2015

Full research — for clinicians and curious readers

Study Summary

This registry-based study reports nationwide results from the Good Life with osteoArthritis in Denmark (GLA:D) initiative, which translates clinical guidelines for knee and hip osteoarthritis into routine care via a 2-day physiotherapist course plus 8 weeks of patient education and supervised neuromuscular exercise. Among 9,825 registry participants (8,894 eligible for follow-up), pain intensity improved by 12.4 points at 3 months and 13.7 points at 12 months, and joint-related quality of life improved by 5.4 and 9.4 points, respectively. Fewer patients took painkillers after treatment and fewer were on sick leave at 12 months versus the year before. Without a control group the authors note effect sizes are likely overestimated, but they conclude that guideline-based education and exercise can be delivered in real-world clinical practice with meaningful benefits.

68/100
Evidence StrengthModerate
Study Quality
Sample Size
Replication

Key Findings

Pain intensity improved after education and exerciseHigh

On a 0-100 VAS, crude/adjusted mean improvement was 12.4 mm (95% CI 11.8 to 13.1) at 3 months and 13.7 mm (95% CI 12.6 to 14.9) at 12 months. Improvements were larger for knee OA than hip OA.

Joint-related quality of life improvedHigh

KOOS/HOOS QOL subscale (0-100, worst to best) improved by an adjusted 5.4 points (95% CI 5.0 to 5.9) at 3 months and 9.4 points (95% CI 8.6 to 10.2) at 12 months, indicating effects were maintained or further improved at 1 year.

Fewer patients took painkillers after treatmentHigh

From baseline to 3 months, the proportion taking acetaminophen, NSAIDs or opioids fell from 55.9% to 36.7% in knee OA (risk reduction 19.2%, P<0.0001) and from 58.1% to 44.7% in hip OA (risk reduction 13.4%, P<0.0001).

Fewer patients were on sick leave at 12 monthsMedium

Among labour-market participants (n=711), the risk of sick leave fell from 24.3% at baseline to 14.9% at 12 months (risk reduction 9.4%, P<0.0001) compared with the year prior to GLA:D.

Objective physical function improved at 3 monthsMedium

Adjusted improvements of 2.3 (95% CI 2.2 to 2.4) more chair-stands in 30 s and 2.5 seconds (95% CI 2.3 to 2.7) faster on the 40-m walk test from baseline to 3 months.

Physical activity improved only in the short termMedium

Odds of being more physically active were significantly higher at 3 months (OR 1.18, 95% CI 1.10 to 1.27, P<0.0001) but not at 12 months (OR 1.10, 95% CI 0.99 to 1.23, P=0.09).

Nationwide rollout achieved but municipal uptake remained lowMedium

286 active GLA:D units operated across all five Danish regions (one unit per ~3,229 citizens with self-reported OA), but only 20% of municipalities (where care is free to patients) offered GLA:D; most units were private clinics where patients pay 60-100% of costs.

Study Methodology
Study Design
Registry-based observational study (within-group pre-post comparison; no control group) evaluating a nationwide guideline-implementation initiative
Sample Size
9,825 participants registered between 31 Jan 2013 and 31 Dec 2015; 8,894 (91%) eligible for follow-up; analysis subsamples ranged from ~711 (sick leave) to ~7,500 depending on outcome and timepoint
Duration
Outcomes assessed at baseline, 3 months and 12 months; 8-week intervention (3 education sessions over 2 weeks plus 12 supervised neuromuscular exercise sessions over 6 weeks)
Population
Danish adults with knee and/or hip osteoarthritis symptoms causing health-care contact, diagnosed clinically by trained physiotherapists; excluded non-OA causes, inflammatory joint disease, post-hip-fracture sequelae, and more pronounced generalised pain or fibromyalgia
Outcome Measures
Pain intensity (100 mm VAS) · KOOS/HOOS quality-of-life subscale (0-100) · 30-second chair-stand test · 40-m fast-paced walk test · Self-reported physical activity (days/week >=30 min) · Intake of painkillers (acetaminophen, NSAIDs, opioids) · Patient-reported sick leave · Number and distribution of GLA:D units

Strengths

  • Very large, nationwide registry sample (9,825 participants) reflecting real-world clinical practice rather than a controlled trial setting
  • Combination of objectively measured, therapist-reported and patient-reported outcomes (e.g., chair-stand and 40-m walk tests alongside VAS and KOOS/HOOS)
  • Standardized, guideline-based intervention with certified physiotherapists and mandatory data submission supporting consistency of care
  • Sensitivity analyses excluding patients who underwent joint replacement, with adjusted models controlling for baseline score, gender, age and BMI
  • Demonstrates that RCT findings on education and exercise can be translated into routine clinical care at a national scale

Limitations

  • No control group, so improvements cannot be causally attributed to GLA:D and likely overestimate the specific treatment effect
  • Follow-up was incomplete: of those eligible, 84% attended the 3-month and 68% the 12-month follow-up; complete baseline/3/12-month data for 65%
  • Physical activity was self-reported (known to be biased) and 62% of participants were already meeting activity recommendations at baseline, limiting room for improvement
  • Patients who discontinued had lower education, more pain and higher BMI, suggesting selective dropout that may affect generalizability
  • Registry data collected across many clinics introduces variation in treatment protocols and data-collection procedures; sick-leave analysis was based on a small subgroup (n=711)

Key Takeaways for Patients

What This Means for You

  1. 01A structured program of patient education plus supervised exercise can reduce knee and hip osteoarthritis pain and improve quality of life, with benefits lasting up to a year.
  2. 02Many patients in this program were able to cut back on painkillers (acetaminophen, NSAIDs or opioids) after treatment.
  3. 03Exercise carries far fewer serious side effects than pain medications and can be appropriate even for people with moderate to severe osteoarthritis.
  4. 04The education component is thought to help people keep exercising long-term by teaching self-management and correcting fears that exercise harms the joint.
  5. 05Because the study had no comparison group, the size of the benefit may be overstated, but the direction of the results is encouraging and reflects real-world clinical care.

Read the Full Paper

Access the complete peer-reviewed study from BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders

View Full Study

Related Research

●●●●● LandmarkNarrative Review

Myofascial Pain Syndrome: An Update on Clinical Characteristics, Etiopathogenesis, Diagnosis, and Treatment

Steen et al.·Muscle & Nerve·2025

This comprehensive narrative review synthesizes current evidence on myofascial pain syndrome, finding sufficient support only for local anesthetic injections while highlighting that many common treatments lack adequate evidence.

Clinical Guidelines & Best PracticesRead →
●●●●● LandmarkMeta-analysis

Treatments for enhancing sleep quality in fibromyalgia: a systematic review and meta-analysis

Anna Pathak et al.·Rheumatology (Oxford)·2025

A meta-analysis of randomized trials in fibromyalgia found that CBT for insomnia moderately improved sleep quality, while most common drugs showed little to no benefit and pregabalin and sodium oxybate helped modestly but carried risks.

Comorbidities & Related ConditionsRead →
●●●●● LandmarkNarrative Review

Myofascial pain – A major player in musculoskeletal pain

Lam et al.·Best Practice & Research Clinical Rheumatology·2024

Comprehensive review of myofascial pain syndrome, affecting 20-95% of musculoskeletal pain patients. Emphasizes multimodal treatment approaches and need for early recognition.

Clinical Guidelines & Best PracticesRead →
●●●●● LandmarkNarrative Review

Relationship Between Sleep Disturbances and Chronic Pain: A Narrative Review

Sejal V. Jain et al.·Clinics and Practice (Clin Pract)·2024

A narrative review concluding that sleep disturbances and chronic pain share a bidirectional relationship, with current evidence suggesting that poor sleep predicts pain more strongly than pain predicts poor sleep.

Comorbidities & Related ConditionsRead →